The Racers' primary in-conference OVC rivalry is now with Austin Peay State University, a school closer geographically than WKU. 15 ranking was also the highest ranking for an OVC team since the Western Kentucky Hilltoppers were ranked No. Twice Murray State has had two players selected in the draft, in 1967 (Herb McPherson, San Diego [now Houston] Rockets, third round; Don Duncan, San Diego Rockets, 10th round) and 1971 (Hector Blondet, Portland Trail Blazers, fifth round; Ron Johnson, Baltimore Bullets [now Washington Wizards], ninth round). [9] That season also included Murray State's best start, at 19-1. 14 seeded Racers 69-65. "There's not a ton of those guys in the NBA. But after the Racers posted an 8-17 in 1977-78, Overton was fired.[20]. While a 16 seeded Princeton team and a 16 seeded East Tennessee State team both fell by just 1 point during regulation in the 1989 tournament, the 1990 Murray State team was the only 16 seed ever to take a game into overtime. 14 Murray St. overcomes Isaiah Canaan's off night to clinch OVC title", "Murray State University Racers Athletics - Racers Dominate Saint Mary's 65-51 In ESPN BracketBusters", "Murray State University Racers Athletics - Prohm Named Inaugural Winner Of The Joe B. [8] In the 1935–36 season, Cutchin coached Murray State to its highest win percentage for a season at .920, when his Thoroughbreds finished with a record of 23-2. November 19, 2004. p B3, 2019–20 Murray State Racers men's basketball team, 1941 NAIA Division I Men's Basketball Tournament, NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Championship, United States Basketball Writers Association, National Association of Basketball Coaches, Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association, National Association for Intercollegiate Basketball, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, Murray State Racers men's basketball statistical leaders, "Weber State's Men's Basketball Program Named in the Top-100 Greatest of All-Time", "Counting down the most prestigious programs since 1984-85 (Nos. In 1958, Murray State hired Cal Luther, who had served the previous four seasons as head coach at DePauw. Marcus Brown holds the record for the most points in a single game with 45 against Washington (Mo.) 24-ranked Racers defeated the Lipscomb Bisons in the 11th game of the season. Portsmouth Daily Times. Their 18th win against Tennessee Tech, 82-74 on January 14, 2012, kept Murray one of only three Division I schools with an unbeaten season as of that date. There have been 10 different coaches to win the OVC Coach Of The Year award for a combined 16 times. Draymond Green once said there are 82-game players and 16-game players in the NBA. Following Murray State's 16th win of the season, a January 7, 2012, victory over conference-rival Austin Peay, the Racers moved up to No. Audience Relations, CBC P.O. [11] That season was marked by strong play from early jump shot proponent Joe Fulks, who transferred from Millsaps College. Chiles was charged with hindering prosecution and possession of marijuana and drug paraphernalia, and Brown was charged with theft from an alleged gas drive-off, possession of marijuana, and his second offense of possession of drug paraphernalia. After the 2006 NCAA Tournament Cronin took the reins of the Cincinnati Bearcats,his hometown team and alma mater.[35]. Chiles was cleared to play in the tournament, but Brown was suspended indefinitely and later dismissed from the team in April. 14 USA Today/ESPN; St. Mary's No. Constructed in June 1998 at a cost of $20 million, the facility is a modern arena which can host other events besides basketball. Complete list of active NBA Players including their bio, season and career stats, and recent video highlights. He's like a heat-seeking missile. The Racers finished the 2002–03 season with a 17-12 record, which was fourth-place in the OVC standings. NCAA – National Collegiate Athletic Association

At Orangeville Prep, the Kitchener, Ont., native combined with fellow NBAer Thon Maker to take down many unsuspecting American schools. The Racers became the first OVC team to ever achieve the No. [45][46][47][48] Junior point guard Isaiah Canaan was named Second Team All-America by the Associated Press, as well as selected to the John R. Wooden All-American team, Lute Olson All-America team, NABC All-America Third Team, and Sporting News All-America First Team.

      Conference tournament champion, KIAC – Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (now known as River States Conference) Former Colorado State Players Currently In The NBA * NBA stats from the 2019-2020 season. Jones helped lead the Racers to OVC championships in 1991 and 1992. Two days later, Murray State answered with a definitive win at home against rival Austin Peay 82-63, bringing its record to 24-1. The Racers won the 2011 Great Alaska Shootout early in the 2011–12 season and went on a 23-game winning streak to start the season. Murray State won the previous two years but fell this season, 76-75. In 2010, 22 years to the date of the 1988 win, the Racers beat Vanderbilt and lost to eventual runner-up Butler in the second round. The last time a player out of Murray State was selected in NBA draft was in 2019. As a result of the loss, the Racers did not reach the 1996 NCAA Tournament. Tevester Anderson was promoted to head coach of the Racers in March, 1998 after Mark Gottfried left Murray State to take the head coach position at the University of Alabama. No players found. [55] After the season, he was named National Association of Basketball Coaches District 19 Coach of the Year. Edgar left Murray State after the 1994-95 season to become head coach at Duquesne. NBA teams with most selected players out of Murray State: Houston Rockets (4 times), Oklahoma City Thunder (3), Los Angeles Lakers (2). The Denver Nuggets' starting point guard has been a part of history these playoffs as the team became the first ever to come back from down 3-1 in two separate series to win.

This happened across the OVC, and Murray was not the only school to lose student athletes. NIT – National Invitation Tournament He looks for them. The Racers have had 14 All-Americans; the first in 1938 and the most recent in 2019. And he's been that for Denver for a number of years now.". While at Murray State, Jones scored 2,057 points which still ranks fourth all time for the Racers. They lost in the quarterfinals of the OVC Tournament.