Chu, a local councillor and member of the Canterbury District Health Board, will be hoping for a vote split on the left, with Labour Party stalwart Tracey McLellan joined on the ballot by the Greens’ Eugenie Sage, who is campaigning for the party vote, but has built name recognition as conservation minister in the term just completed. This was a merger of the old St Kilda electorate with a large part of the former Dunedin West electorate.

This graph visually represents the data in the Highest qualification, 2018 Census table in this section of the profile. Read more about Takanini and its candidates here. Unlike last time round, the Labour candidates in the Māori seats are on the list, and with Davidson also guaranteed to return to parliament should the Greens hit 5%, Tamihere supporters are making the case for a candidate vote and a three-MPs-for-the-price-of-one tactical vote.

Currently open, with Nikki Kaye, who won for National in 2017 with a slender 1,581 majority, having escaped the political swamp. The electorate is predominantly European (89.5%) and Māori (10.1%). Read more about Whanganui and its candidates here. Also running is Meredith Akuhata-Brown for the Greens, who is currently a Gisborne District councillor. National’s Tim Costley is a veteran of the air force, who strangely enough used to be an aide to Prince William, while Labour’s Terisa Ngobi is a Levin local who – in her own words – comes from the “union hard” tradition. Fun trivia about Taieri – last time an electorate with this name existed, neither National nor the Labour Party even existed.

The electorate also includes some of the smaller towns around South Taranaki, including Pātea, Manaia, Eltham and Hāwera. The seat has since 1996 been held by MPs from NZ First, Labour, the Māori Party, and Mana, but it’s unlikely to change hands this time. Te Puni Kokiri: This work includes content on Te Puni Kokiri’s Te Kāhui Māngai pages. When the electorate was abolished in 1911, Thomas Mackenzie stood successfully for Egmont. It’s also a seat the minor parties are having a good crack at, including the Tea Party’s co-leader John Hong, and the New Conservatives’ deputy leader Elliot Ikilei. He needs a big swing to overhaul the four-term National MP, who will be banking on his record and name recognition helping him to outperform his party’s polling. [4], The seat was recreated for the 2020 general election by renaming the electorate of Dunedin South and amending its borders, particularly with a large area around the Clutha River and South Otago added from Clutha-Southland. Will White’s pitch for an Auckland Central voice in the (likely) governing caucus prevail? Ministry of Education: This work includes data adapted from the Ministry of Education’s Schools Directory.

In 2014, its party vote crashed as low as 22%. who won the seat in the 2018 by-election with a 1,310 vote majority. , who has built a large online following off the back of conspiracy theory peddling and who has billboards festooned across Northland, can translate that into votes.

Policy – the easy and smart way to make an informed vote. (Source: Parliamentary Library using data from Stats NZ), Source: Parliamentary Library using data from Stats NZ, This graph visually represents the data in the Ethnic group, 2018 Census table in this section of the profile. The leading candidates are Labour’s Neru Leavasa, a doctor and former local board member, and National’s Rima Nakhle, who runs an emergency housing business.

South Otago has been moved into the Taieri electorate (previously South Dunedin) but Alexandra and Clyde are now part of this electorate (from Waitaki). If not satisfied with the response, the complaint may be referred to the online complaint form at along with a link to the relevant story and all correspondence with the publication. Taieri was represented by seven Members of Parliament:[14], Independent     Liberal     Conservative     Labour, "New electorate revealed, as raft of boundary changes announced prior to election 2020", "Report of the Representation Commission 2020", "2019-2020 boundary review; What are the main changes? The seat has since 1996 been held by MPs from NZ First, Labour, the Māori Party, and Mana, but it’s unlikely to change hands this time. In the party vote, National won 44% compared to 36.6% for Labour. , all impressive and experienced politicians, with Henare and Davidson joined by, , now co-leader of the Māori Party.

Electoral Commission New Zealand: This work includes content on the Electoral Commission New Zealand’s website. Waiariki is currently held by Labour’s Tāmati Coffey, who claimed a 1,719 vote upset win over former Māori Party co-leader Te Ururoa Flavell in 2017. is also running, and while she’s a long shot, NZ First needs someone to win an electorate if they fall below 5% in the party vote. A Reid. Read more about Whanganui and its candidates. National’s contender is farmer, , who if he makes it in will be likely to be a very robust advocate for the sector, even relative to the rest of the National caucus. Check your email inbox to finalise email verification. He held a 6,392 majority.

, who is currently a Gisborne District councillor. Read more about Nelson and its candidates. A Curia. The Taieri electorate (formerly known as Dunedin South) comprises the southern suburbs of the Dunedin urban area, including Burnside, Caversham, South Dunedin and Andersons Bay, as well as Green Island, Abbotsford, and Fairfield. Labour is being represented by Ingrid Leary, a former lawyer and broadcaster. Wairarapa is currently open, after National’s Alastair Scott retired. Also worth watching will be the performance of NZ First, which will be represented by MP, Read more about Palmerston North and its candidates. , who won by a slim 1,389 votes over NZ First leader Winston Peters in 2017. was a further 5,000-and-a-bit behind. However, the new boundaries for Taieri include more rural areas,[8] and Curran announced in 2019 that she would not be seeking reelection in 2020.[9]. Taieri ranked second amongst New Zealand electorates for the proportion of rental housing supplied by local authority (8.9%), compared to the New Zealand average of 2.1%. Income does not include Working for Families tax credits. With wholesale and fixed price plans available, plus no fixed-term contracts or exit fees, you’re in good hands! Members of the public may contact the Parliamentary Information Service ( , with Labour’s Ruth Dyson, who won in 2017 by 7,916 votes, not standing again. Peters, of course, had snapped up the seat in a high-drama 2015 by-election. Read more about Taieri and its candidates, The best, the worst and the weirdest of last night’s election TV coverage, A better visual breakdown of the 2020 election results, Jacinda Ardern and Labour secure historic landslide win in NZ election, Saturday night and Sunday morning: Where to watch Election Night 2020. for support, It looks like this account has been The Māori Party will be represented by former Labour candidate, , who switched after Kīngi Tūheitia Paki made a speech backing the Māori Party in 2016. Peters, of course, had snapped up the seat in a high-drama 2015 by-election. for Newshub placed him a distant third on 15%, behind King on 46% and Prime on 31%. Replete with candidate debates and plot twists, the race pits Labour’s.